Sara NY
Society of American Registered Architects New York Council

About

Architect helping Architect

Architect helping Architect. 

About SARA National

The Society of American Registered Architects (SARA) is a vibrant professional organization of architects and industry related partners. Founded in 1956, we are a national organization with active councils and chapters throughout the country, as well as international members. SARA focuses on fellowship, friendship and mentorship.

OUR SIZE IS A VIRTUE :  We are a small, intimate group at various stages of our architectural training and careers. Every SARA member matters, each member’s voice is heard. Numerous events, programs and committees at national and local levels provide opportunities to get involved and interact with colleagues.

 A DIFFERENT PLACE FOR ARCHITECTS :  In keeping with the values of our founders, we believe in the collective enhancement of our organization and each other. Mentorship is an important SARA tradition and one of the many benefits of membership. Through student, emerging professional and peer mentorship programs, we actively encourage and benefit from the friendly counsel of each other.

 ARCHITECTS MAKING A DIFFERENCE :  As members of the profession and as citizens, we embrace our duty to contribute toward the peace, heath, culture and safety of society. Help us make a difference by getting involved in our community service projects.

 Join SARA for the opportunity to learn, share and grow as an architect and a person.

Mission

To work together for the betterment of the architectural profession, sustainability of the environment, support of the public good and advancement of each other as “architect helping architect.”

Conferences

The Society holds National Conferences every year. This site has a complete listing of Conferences as well as our Conference History.

Publications

SARA publishes SARAScope, a bimonthly newsletter that includes items of interest about the Society and the profession, and distributes special flyers announcing the professional design competition and the annual conference to its members

Directory

The Society also publishes a National Directory, which includes membership listings, display advertising, SARA's By-Laws and other information for members.

Membership Services & Programs

SARA offers a variety of membership services and programs, including a professional referral service, seminars in conjunction with its annual conference, professional and student design awards competitions and issues development to strengthen and protect the interests of practicing architects. Members also gain from professional recognition among peers, design expertise referral, personal involvement at all levels within the Society, camaraderie among fellow members, individual achievement recognition, and a College of Fellows.

 

SARA | NY Council Board

NY Council President 

Asaf Yogev, ARA I asaf@sarany.org

NY Council Vice President

Scott Henson, ARA I scott@hensonarchitect.com

NY Council Treasurer

Robert J. Firneis, FARA, LEED AP I robertfirneis@yahoo.com

Immediate Past President 

Frank A. Szatkowski, ARA  I frank@sarany.org

NY Council Legal Counsel

James Rowland, Esq. I jrowland@zdlaw.com

 NY Council Directors

Maria Fabiana Assenza, ARA I fabianaassenza@gmail.com

Christian Bailey, ARA I christian@oda-architecture.com

Arpad Baksa, ARA I abaksa@arpad-baksa-architect.com

Gabriela Branez, Assoc. ARA I gbranez@oculuscorp.com

Valerie R. Costa, Assoc. ARA I valerie@sarany.org

Matthew Jenkins, ARA I mjenkins@ctaarchitects.com

Robert Strong, ARA I robertstrong@nyc.rr.com

Christina Toscano, Assoc. ARA I ctoscano@nyit.edu

 NY Council Executive Director

Jessica Fleischer I info@sarany.org